P-bass pickups with jazz bass sound?

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by AdmiralBumblebe, Nov 12, 2012.

1. AdmiralBumblebe

AdmiralBumblebe

I've found essentially my dream bass. The feel is amazing. I've been playing it for a few years now and despite this I'm constantly let down by the sound.

The bass in question is a '74 fender p-bass fretless.

I'm not so deluded to think I'm going to get that punchy jazz bridge sound on a p-bass (obviously placement alone causes a huge issue), but I sure would like to get as close as I can.

Given my preference for the feel of the bass, it would seem that electronics/pickups are where I need to go for solutions.

What should I start looking at?
  2. iiipopes

iiipopes Supporting Member

Not going to happen. The coil geometry is so different from a P to a J that it is a fundamental distinction affecting inductance and tone, not a flavor distinction.

Enjoy your new fretless P for what it is, drop the mids on your amp a notch and rock on.
  3. chuck norriss

chuck norriss Supporting Member

You might tailor it w a parametric eq or similar
  4. AdmiralBumblebe

AdmiralBumblebe

Yeah, I realize I'm not going to get there, but I'd like to get as close as I can.

As it is I'm already cranking the EQ on my amp, which I'm totally OK with, but I'd like to get a bit closer still if I can.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Phalex

Phalex Semper Gumby Supporting Member

Get it routed for a bridge PUP. Best your going to do.
  7. TDSLaBassiste

TDSLaBassiste Supporting Member

Just route it for a jazz pickup in the bridge position. You're not going to get close enough, I guarantee it.
  8. ctmullins

ctmullins Registered thumper Supporting Member