1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

P-Bass: Round, Flat, Half?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Epac, May 4, 2012.

1. Epac

Epac

I should probably make this a poll, but I was just wondering...as a P-tone is something both deeply personal and universal, both a workhorse and a exotic bird in different settings and creeds...what is the right style of string to use, in your own opinion?

I'm just getting into the P-world...bought one a few months ago, and been digging into it...got a great opportunity to pick up an American at a great price. Put some flatwounds on it, mostly cause I'm a big pino-jameson fan and love that type of playing...tried some rotosound swing 77s on there, then some chromes. Both cool for a minute, but gradually fell out of favor with me because to my ears they have somewhat of an overly-mid-focused sound, where I like to get more clarity in the lights and highs. Would love to be able to keep that sweet old school sound with more definition/clarity, and was thinking about either trying ghs precision rounds as they are the talk of the town on these threads...also thinking about throwing some rounds on them. As I am not in the financial position to experiment widely, thought I'd come on my favorite forum and see what flavors of P were out there...