PA Set Up Question

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by hennessybass, Jan 9, 2014.


  1. hennessybass

    hennessybass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Here is the situation...

    I have a small venue, think coffee shop, with two permanently installed speakers. The speakers are daisy chained to each other, and the one speaker lead is run down the wall to a plate with one female speakon connector.

    My PA head has stereo 1/4" outputs.

    What's the best way to hook this up? I am trying to avoid running new cable, replacing the plate on the wall, etc...

    Is there an adaptor I could make / buy? Something like a Y cable with 2-1/4" to 1 speakon,

    Any advice appreciated.
  2. RustyAxe

    RustyAxe Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I'd just run one channel to the wall plate (1/4" to Speakon cable) and run in mono. Just be sure your PA can handle zero load on one channel. It's never a good idea to use a y-cable as you suggest. Why not Y?
  3. MVE

    MVE Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    You dont want a Y cable! Just a single 1/4 to Speakon adapter cable.
    Your PA should have speaker outputs that designate how to plug it in for MONO output. (ie. L(MONO) : R ). That means you would only use the Left.
    If not, use only 1 and make SURE you have stereo the balance all the way toward the one you are using. As stated above, it is not usually a good idea to have zero load on a speaker output.
  4. DWBass

    DWBass The Funkfather Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Location:
    Newport News, VA via NYC
    Disclosures:
    Kohlman Bassworks
    Should be a no issue unless your PA amp is a tube amp which is unlikely. Buy a 1/4" to Speakon cable and connect to just one side. If you want to run another set or single speaker, use the other side. Remember not to go below 4ohms on each side. An old band I was in, a venue had a speaker system they wanted us to patch into. Nice thing was they had their own amp so we just plugged in their 1/4" cable to a monitor channel.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Biggbass

    Biggbass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Run it in Mono. Stereo in a small setting like that gets lost anyway.
  7. Joe Louvar

    Joe Louvar

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA USA
    Yep - match the impedance and run it in Mono.
  8. hennessybass

    hennessybass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Thanks guys,

    The speakers are set up for Mono with a 4 ohm load.

    Sounds like the solution here is a 1/4" to Speakon cable, and just use one of the outputs of the PA.
  9. Joe Louvar

    Joe Louvar

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA USA
    Yeah, that will do it.

    You're welcome
  10. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Jeebus, the PA cabs ARE mono.

    Plugging a Y speaker cable into your amp will BLOW IT UP. There is no such thing as a Y cable. Bridge mono maybe, but highly not recommended unless you know what you're doing (you don't) and probably would only be good for blowing up the house cabs.
  11. ggunn

    ggunn

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    How could he plug one in if it doesn't exist? :D

    But you indeed never want to connect the outputs of two power amps to each other, which you would be doing if you Y'ed the two stereo speaker outputs together. Just use one side to power the FOH.
  12. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Some roll their own, wouldn't want some noob's first attempt ending in a smoked amp.
  13. ggunn

    ggunn

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    How's he ever going to learn? :D
  14. Zooberwerx

    Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    JOOC, what PA head are you using?

    Riis
  15. Downunderwonder

    Downunderwonder

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I'll settle for 50 questions ahead of 1 burned up amp.
  16. ggunn

    ggunn

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    You did understand that I was joking, didn't you? Just checking.
  17. hennessybass

    hennessybass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  18. fretless_bill

    fretless_bill

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Just to clarify what an earlier post said. Any modern solid state amp will be fine running with no speaker load attached. So plug in one output to the daisy chained speakers and you are good to go.

Share This Page