Pain in left arm when playing.

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by Rosiegsm, Feb 21, 2014.

1. Rosiegsm

Rosiegsm

Hello,
    I have been playing double bass for three years and use it as my second study at University. I also suffer from elements of HyperMobility Syndrome, meaning that I regularly pop out joints.

A few months ago, I dislocated my left thumb so took a break from the bass for a while. Since I've started playing again, I have noticed that my left arm gets really painful in the upper muscle, almost like I physically can't hold my left arm up anymore. I'm not aware of gripping the neck more than I should be but I wondered if anyone had any ideas of what I could do to help improve the pain?

I've tried lowering my bass so that my arm isn't as high. I've also spoken to my teacher who wasn't sure what to suggest.

I would be grateful for any help from anyone
    Thank you.
  2. Edvin

Edvin

that's so unfortunate that your teacher can't help you.
    I don't know where you live, but my best suggestion would be to take a lesson for a player who knows about these stuff
    (ask in forehand and ask around). also, if you happened to know a physiotherapist - bring her/him to your practice room!

Best of luck

Edvin
  3. Dbass926

Dbass926

One lesson I learned from watching accomplished players is that they are immensely relaxed and they manage to look very natural when they play. I struggled for years to make individual adjustments to my playing without ever attempting to slowly and methodically figure out what comfortable playing felt like.

I would suggest that your first step in dealing with pain is only playing until pain or discomfort begins. You can carefully and mindfully increase your practice intervals to rebuild your stamina and hopefully strengthen the muscles that are bothering you.