1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Pain in the neck

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by VBassRookie, Jan 12, 2013.

1. VBassRookie

VBassRookie

I just started playing bass just recently. Since then I've acquired that pulled neck muscle feeling you get when you think you've slept wrong and can't turn your head a certain way. I have a cheap strap. My bass is adjusted so when I sit my strap is still holding the guitar. I do a lot of my practicing sitting down. Is a cheap narrow strap potentially the cause of this? I've been playing "thin strings" for 30 years and have never gotten a stiff neck or shoulders from my guitar. Obviously my bass has a little more weight than I'm used to. Would a good thick width and padded strap potentially cure my pains and strains? I'm 6 foot 230 lbs so it's not like my bass is making me tip over :D

2. HereIGoAgain

HereIGoAgain

Has your neck pain become a chronic or everyday thing? If so, a doctor might help you more than a better strap would.

That being said, a good strap is always a good idea. Check out Italia Leather Straps. They are expensive, but they usually do a "buy one, get one free" thing. I have a 2" model for my jazz bass.

http://italiastraps.com/index.html

3. VBassRookie

VBassRookie

It's probably more to do with my posture when I'm playing around with my bass. I'm playing a few songs and then checking for any new posts on TB in between, with my bass still attached at my recording console, hehe. Just curious if a nice strap is worth it. I am just using a thin fender nylon strap currently.

4. HereIGoAgain

HereIGoAgain

I bought the Italias after my nylon off-brand strap broke.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. VBassRookie

VBassRookie

7. VBassRookie

VBassRookie