Pain with the bass

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by jionunez, Apr 4, 2014.

1. jionunez

jionunez

So I'm a beginning bass player, and one of my biggest problems is holding the damn thing. I've tried shifting the bass to different angles and playing both sitting down and standing up, and my elbow starts to hurt, almost immediately. It's a pretty dull pain and doesn't go away until I stop playing. Also, trying to get all of my fingers down on the fretboard only makes it worse and make my hand hurt. This is a really frustrating problem because I really want to learn to play, but even holding it correctly hurts me, and my hand is at such a weird angle that I can barely move my fingers let alone press the strings. Literally, the only position I've found so far that I can play with no pain at all, and able to actually move my fingers and press the strings is when the bass is almost upright. Remember I'm a beginner, so I'd prefer tips on how I can train my left arm to be more comfortable with the playing position.:confused:
  2. fearceol

fearceol

Hi, and welcome to the low end ! :)

Below are some links that will explain things better than I ever could. I have linked right and left hand technique also.

Pain should never be an issue when playing the bass. If you experience it, dont play through it, but find the cause and correct it.

At one time we were all at the place you are at now. To start, just play for very short periods and increase the time gradually.

Sorry... I did not mean to lecture, just want to offer some friendly advice. :)

Here are the links :

Holding the bass :

http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/holding-your-bass-guitar.html

Left Hand Technique :

BTW the first link is taken from the "Bass Guitar for Dummies" book, which IMO would be a great investment for someone starting from absolute scratch. Your local library might stock it. Comes with a CD.

Best of luck with it. :bassist:
  3. bluesdogblues

bluesdogblues

Media:
    Albums: