1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Pairing an 8 ohm and 4 ohm cab

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by MattGreer, Nov 22, 2013.

1. MattGreer

MattGreer

Not sure how this works, newbie here.

If I pair a Markbass Standard 104HR (which can be purchased in either an 8 Ω or 4 Ω variet, and a Markbass Standard 151HR, which comes only in 8 Ω, and I plug those into a LM III, which puts out 300W @ 8 Ω, or 500W at 4 Ω, what power output am I going to get? Or is this not a possibility? I have to get them both as 8 Ω cabs? Or can one be 4 Ω and the other 8 Ω?

Thank you for your help!

-Matt
  2. Vince Klortho

Vince Klortho

You should get the 104HR in the 8Ω variety. Otherwise, your amp will see a load of 2.7Ω which could be hazardous to its health IF it has a minimum impedance rating of 4Ω. I don't know what it is rated for - you will have to determine that.
  3. MattGreer

MattGreer

Thank you for the reply!

How is that calculation performed? Are the resistances in parallel or series?

The amp is rated for either 8 or 4 ohms.
  4. B-string

B-string Supporting Member

You can run one 8 ohm cab or two 8 ohm cabs (=4 ohm load). You can run one 4 ohm cab with no other. If you run a 8 ohm cab and a 4 ohm cab that will equal a 2.667 ohm load and either damage the amp or it will shut down.
  5. B-string

B-string Supporting Member

The IMPEDANCE will be a parallel formula available in the FAQs /stickies.
  6. Rob22315

Rob22315