Parallel Distortion?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by xanquist, Jan 7, 2014.

1. xanquist

xanquist

Hey guys, kinda new to forums, been reading for a while but this is my first time posting. Anyway, I just ordered an Eden Navigator and was wondering the best way to rig up a parallel distortion effect, preferably rack mount.

Right now I'm using a Peavey Alpha preamp through a Crown XLS1500 and a Peavey Tour 810. I have a Digitech BP355 in the effects loop. I have the Preamp set pretty clean with as smooth a low end as I could dial.

The Digitech is pretty much my tuner, compressor, and occasionally I use the spark overdrive which lets me dial in how much clean and distortion I want separately. (I'm running clean at 40 and distortion at 60) I like how it sounds but would prefer to not have to set up an entire multi-effects processor on stage that I use so little of. Besides the Eden has a compressor, and I don't really like the digitech tuner too much anyway.

Any advice? Thanks.

PS: In case you were wondering. I play a 5 string Phillips Bulldog with Bartolini Quads and an Aguilar OBP-3 preamp, and I'm in a metal band called Anguish of Atrophy, although I tend to prefer Jazz tones.

2. Darknut

Darknut Supporting Member

I do Parallel Distortion ... I use a Badger Schism to do the Parallel blend .... you will need some sort of blender.

Wouldn't that Digitech BP355 sound better plugged into the front of the preamp?

3. newbold

newbold

clean blends will give you mega texture.

4. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    There are many pedal options, but I can't think of any rackmount distortions that include blend... Unless you go for an overkill rack multifx unit.

I'd just get a pedal for this job.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Jensby design

Jensby design

At one point I was working a 3-way x-over overdrive/distortion pedal but I realized I only wanted my mid-range effected.