Passive A/B switch stomp?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by miggychunt, Feb 25, 2014.


  1. miggychunt

    miggychunt

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    I'm looking for a passive switch stomp (so I can beef up my sound with a subwoofer on command), but can anyone recommend anything but the EHX switchblade? I've heard bad things about it regarding not being true bypass, A->B sound bleed etc.

    Is the switchblade really that bad? If so, what else is there?
  2. RickenBoogie

    RickenBoogie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    This is for a speaker? You can't use a regular instrument-level device, like the Switchblade, or anything like it. You need something specifically for a speaker.
  3. miggychunt

    miggychunt

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    No, it would be for a 15" powered sub. I know how that part of it works, but I just need something to switch the sound on and off.
  4. miggychunt

    miggychunt

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    I would basically be using it as a passive mute switch from a "line out" from my head to the subwoofer. I just can't seem to find any cheap options for a passive mute switch, either.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. jumblemind

    jumblemind I also answer to Bryan Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    Knoxville
    Couldn't you make your own with two jacks, a footswitch, some wire and any kind of box or can? Otherwise, Mooer makes a small ABY switch, and Morley makes a larger one.
  7. Nephilymbass

    Nephilymbass Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Location:
    Fayetteville Ft Bragg NC
    I have a Morley aby that i used to use to switch between and combine two amps. As far as i know it is passive. The pedal works with or without a battery. Sound is identical either way leaving me to believe the battery is only for the lights.
  8. lava4485

    lava4485

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    How about Radial Big shot ABY? My brother uses one to switch channels on his amp.... Its an awesome stuff..... Pretty pricey though! :)
  9. willbassyeah

    willbassyeah

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    wait he mentioned he wanted to use it to switch cab? i dont think any of our recommendation will work here though
  10. jumblemind

    jumblemind I also answer to Bryan Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Location:
    Knoxville
    Not to switch cabs. He's adding and removing a powered cabinet from the Line Out on his amp.
  11. miggychunt

    miggychunt

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Yeah, what jumblemind said.
  12. eeyorebass

    eeyorebass

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008

Share This Page