Passive vs active???

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by mixmastermike, Dec 4, 2011.

1. mixmastermike

mixmastermike

I'm playing an 01 mim jazz passive and I feel I get a pretty nice tone out of it but I have an instructor that keeps trying to talk me into "upgrading" to an active bass. I'm pretty ignorant to all this electronics stuff as far as basses go ( I'm an electrician at my real job) so guess I'm just looking for some discussion on this. Is there a pedal that can essentially do the same thing as an inboard preamp? Lie I said I don't know much about this aspect of playing bass.
    Thanks in advance

P.s. I know that the right thing to do is go play some basses but the closest musical store is a couple hundred miles away

2. Batmensch

Batmensch

If you like the tone you're getting from your MIM, pay no attention. He's just trying to force his personal preferences on you, which is a huge mistake on his part. Unless and until you can actually try an active bass out and decide for yourself whether you will like it or not, and you like the way your current bass sounds, you can safely ignore him. What he likes may not work for you. There's plenty of good players out there who don't bother with active basses and pre-amps.
    EDIT: I just wanted to add, Please don't misunderstand, I'm not saying you wouldn't absolutely love an active bass or a pre-amp pedal, I'm just saying, don't just do it because someone tells you you should. Again, what works for them may or may not work for you. I know it's not easy for you to try stuff out, but this is one of those things that you absolutely must try out first. Until then, stick with what you know and like.

3. line6man

line6man

Yes and no.