Paul Chambers Transcription- Straight No Chaser

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by pettinellibass, Dec 8, 2013.

1. pettinellibass

pettinellibass

Hey so this is one of the pieces I'm playing for my upcoming jury in a week and a half. To get some performance experience, I decided to play it for the other students in my jazz history class. The beginning of the video (although part of the explanation is cut off) is simply me telling the class a bit about Paul Chambers and what I am going to do (melody- walk- transcription- improv- melody). I had to do this because the jazz history class is a general education class, and thus doesn't contain all musicians. I'd really like some feedback on my playing from all of your fine ladies and gentleman. I am a freshman studying music education and jazz performance at George Mason University. Thank you! Link is below.

2. jake3

jake3 Guest

Nice! Your bass playing is well along the road to my ears and eyes. I like how you use your third finger as well as your index on your right hand, that's something I have to work on. Your note choices in walking are very tasty. If I had a suggestion, it's that your soloing is a little busier than it needs to be for the listener's pleasure.

Now, as to the quality of the video - are you sure you're at George Mason and not trying to play your way out of an Iranian prison or something? ;):bassist:
  3. Tom Lane

Tom Lane Previously tcl Gold Supporting Member

Media:
    Nice job, man! I like your lines and good job on a fairly difficult transcription, too. I agree with the previous poster that you could leave more space in your solos. Your left hand looks very good to me, but I think you can probably get more intensity and presence our of your right hand if you employ a more traditional right-hand pizz technique. Google Lynn Seaton for an example of what I mean. Hope that helps.
  4. pettinellibass

pettinellibass