Pawnshop find: Traynor Bassmaster

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by UffdaDonchaKnow, Dec 31, 2012.

1. UffdaDonchaKnow

UffdaDonchaKnow

[​IMG]

This is an amp I came across at a pawn shop tonight. They were asking $799 for it but have been sitting on it for a while and was willing to deal. Anywho, Its a Traynor Bass Master and a little Google-fu tells me it is from the 1960's. Sadly I have been playing bass off and on for 20+ years not and don't think I have even heard of this brand. Going to probably take my bass in tomorrow to give it a try.

Thoughts?
  2. 1958Bassman

1958Bassman

I'm pretty sure this is one of those "buy it!" amps, if it's still there. Look on ebay for that model in Sold Listings for past selling prices.
  3. SpecialBlender

SpecialBlender

Traynor (& Yorkville Brand) are made in Toronto and the easiest description would be to say they are our Canadian version of Peavey when it comes to construction & reliability. Built like tanks and trouble free.

Here is a link to their website: http://www.traynoramps.com/. They may even still have info in their support section on this amp.

Looks like it might be late 60's/early 70's build.
  4. abstractart06

abstractart06

Traynor was considered a very desirable brand, and was used by many working bands back in the day. If you can get a good deal, you may be in luck.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Primakurtz

Primakurtz Registered Nihilist Supporting Member

Buy it, and either love it for lower-volume tube tones or sell e head it to a happy guitar player for around $500. That one is a 45 watt head with what, a 2x15 cab?
  7. lbanks

lbanks

Back in the day, when I played horn, I played in a band with a guy that had one. The main memory I have was it was a bit under powered and replaced with a Kustom setup. I remember it sounding good, but at the time, we played loud and it would get lost.
  8. jastacey

jastacey Supporting Member