Peak of Creativity?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by deepBassie, Dec 5, 2012.

1. deepBassie

deepBassie

Is it more difficult for you to create quality songs then it used to be? Does it seem your "well of creativity" has started to dry up? Was there a time that you noticed that, despite all of your musical experiences and influences, the songs that you create simply do not hold par with your existing body of work? It seems that our ability to play the instrument doesn't peak until we are physically unable to keep up. However, it does not seem that our ability to become better song writers follows the same curve.

So I'm interested in hearing your thoughts about when it happened for you, why this happened to you, and how you have tried to overcome this.

2. bunkaroo

bunkaroo Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Spector Basses
    I've been writing songs since I started playing in bands 25 years ago (I'm 38 now). I think there are things I'm better at now and things I was better at then.

For example, now I am a much better lyricist, and I tend to consider the whole song a lot more and having a theme whether it's lyrical or a melodic theme. At earlier ages I would just keep writing "the next section". Still, I am actively developing songs I started in some form 15 years ago, so I feel like I've been writing fairly decent quality music for a while now. When I was younger was less concerned with what fits and just put stuff together. Some of it was inspired; other pieces were scrapped soon after.

I think one of the biggest things to watch out for is becoming too formulaic or predictable. I think one can have a signature songwriting style without sounding like you're writing the same song over and over.