Peavey Cirrus-4 (USA)…scale length

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by hernameisrio, Dec 23, 2013.

1. hernameisrio

hernameisrio

The 35" scale on this bass didn't used to bother me, but the more I fall in love with my EBMM Sterling, the more I find that it's simply easier to move around on that neck versus the Cirrus. I have a decent reach for someone with small hands who is small in general (I am a lady bassist!) and I have long fingers and good left-hand technique. I play with low action and a light touch. But in spite of this, no matter what I do, the more I get into playing faster stuff and lines which require a lot of precision (like disco octaves and the like), the more the Cirrus just kills me in first position.

Has anyone ever sold a bass they loved because it doesn't "fit" them? My heart is sort of breaking right now but it seems strange to keep a bass that is not necessarily a good ergonomic match for me. I really want a US Marcus Miller Fender Jazz and it would certainly help my wallet to let the Cirrus go and put that money towards the Jazz, but it also makes me feel a little bummed because I worry I'll miss it. The thing is though, it kinda seems like hanging onto a pair of shoes that you like but they hurt your feet. You know?

Thoughts? Hugs? Thanks!

2. bassclef112

bassclef112 Supporting Member

As a matter of fact I flipped a USA Cirrus for that very reason. It wasn't the first 35" bass I moved, but I have learned my lesson. I always check the scale length before going ahead with a purchase.

The Cirrus I had was a beautiful bass, but no matter how much I liked it first position was a chore. For my hands it just doesn't work.

So, console yourself that it's not really a sacrifice. You're just using it to get something that really suits you.

BTW, have you tried any 32" scale basses? I was weaned on 34" and that's the length almost all my basses - but that 32" fits like a glove. Check it out if you haven't.

3. hernameisrio

hernameisrio