Peavey Fury or MIM P bass..?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by raul, Jan 22, 2014.

1. raul

raul

Thinking of one of these P basses. And then putting a Wilde P 46 pickup in it! For big rock tones.
    What do you think? Any experience comparing the two? I can find a MIMalmost aanywhere. Or should I hunt down a Fury? The Fury neck looks comfortable and fast. But what about the build quality between the two?
  2. StuartV

StuartV Out of GAS!! Supporting Member

I have no experience with MIM P basses. I've had several Fender MIA P basses, though.

And I have 1 MIA Fury.

I would spend $200 on a Fury over $400 or more on a MIM P bass any day of the week. Actually, I'd take the Fury even if the Fender was the same price. Heck, if the Fury was $200 and the MIM Fender was $100, I'd probably buy them both and then sell the Fender for enough to pay for them both.

My Fury already had a Hi-A (vintage Bartolini) pickup in it when I got it, but I would at least give the stock pickup some play time before I spent money on a replacement. The good thing is, you should be able to buy a nice Fury, a nice replacement pickup, and pay to have the pickup installed and the bass setup, all for less than the price of a good condition MIM Fender P.
  3. georgestrings

georgestrings Banned

IME/IMO, a *good* MIM Fender is a slightly better made instrument than the MIA Furys that *I* have played so far...

The Fury will have a much thinner neck - even thinner than a typical Jazz, IME... The Fury will likely give a bigger bang for the buck, though - and will probably be more consistant, quality-wise...

I'm definitely a fan of buying American whenever possible - but I have to say that I would take a good MIM Fender over the Fury that I owned...

- georgestrings
  4. skidmarkbass

skidmarkbass

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. landau roof

landau roof Reupholstered User Supporting Member