Peavey TNT 115S pulsing sound

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Jdav, Jan 31, 2014.

1. Jdav

Jdav

I bought this amp in 1998, A few years into it and started developing this power oscillating sound. It would be fine and then all of a sudden it would give me a pulsing sound and my bass would be distorted. It happened at a couple shows, so eventually I just purchased a new bass amp, I was young and wanted a monster amp anyway. Anyway I recently started playing keyboards in a band and I started using that old bass amp, I hooked it up and it seemed fine but after an hour or two of playing organ through it, it started doing that pulsating and distorted sound again. I can't seem to get the head out of the combo to look at, it is held in with 30 invisible screws made of kryptonite apparently, but I was wondering if anybody knew what this problem could be from. The distortion makes me think that it's probably a short and maybe that could explain the warbling pulsating sound as well, but I really have no idea about repairing bass amps somebody help me out please, If I can't get the head to work that's fine, I've been using the speaker part of this combo on it's own for years now.

2. B-string

B-string Gold Supporting Member

PM BbbyBld he should be of big help.

3. sjeverett

sjeverett

I have the same amp and same problem. Puull out the speaker and hold up to the light. I bet you have a bunch of pinholes. I patched the holes with nailpolish and its fixed....for now.

4. sjeverett

sjeverett

Time for a new repacement basket.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Jdav

Jdav

Do you mean in the cone? I will look, but years ago I opened up the amp unhooked the speaker and attached it to an external 1/4 " Input and started using that speaker is part of my PA rig, the speaker seem to be holding up fine but next time I'm at my practice space I will check out the cone to see if it has pinholes in it.

7. sjeverett

sjeverett