Peavey TVX 4x10 users?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by shawshank72, Mar 28, 2014.

1. shawshank72

shawshank72

Anyone use this?
    Like to know how it performed and what you used to run it.
    How did it sound?
    I know its not powerful for a 4x10 but they are cheap.

2. KeithAlanK

KeithAlanK

It's a good cab. Dependable, sounds good, handles enough power to do the job.
    Weighs over 90 lbs, though.

I've been using the 410TX for a few years, which is 8 instead of 4 ohms.
    Have powered it with everything from an old AB Precedent power amp, a big QSC, an SVT3Pro, and now using a Peavey MKIII Bass head from 1980 or so.

I would say 200 watts is the minimum I would want playing with a loud drummer and rock guitarist.

In the studio they stuck a Telefunken and a Neumann mike on my cabs and the tone on our CD is exactly what everyone involved wanted, and our producer used to mix TOOL and Ministry so I'd say these cabs can do anything from country to the heaviest of metal.

I've compared it side by side with the Ampeg 410LH (?) and I thought the Peavey had a flatter response and less coloration of the tone, and responded to transients better.

I turned my tweeter all the way down and then a stagehand broke the shaft clean off, so can't comment on that part of the sound other than that the tweeter is made by Fostex.
    My 10" drivers are labeled as Peavey and have red paper cones.

I think 700 watts Program is plenty for a 410.

3. RadioactiveGuy4

RadioactiveGuy4

I use 2 TVX cabs and I do like the way they sound. I leave the tweeters off the drivers seem to do a great job on highs without them. The only thing I do not like about them is the weight but they are built like tanks. There are a lot better cabs out there but in their price range they are IMO the best.

4. bass nitro

bass nitro