Phil Jones Bass Buddy as DI box

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by BrotherMister, Nov 4, 2013.

1. BrotherMister

BrotherMister

Hello ladies and gentlemen,

Long time reader, first time poster here. If I have made any mistakes such as wrong forum or anything then please forgive me. I'm still learning how to work with this.

If I may, I would like to get straight down to business.

The leader of the function band I currently play with has upgraded the entire PA system to a Bose L1 system with a mix of B1 and B2 bass bins. I believe all in all it cost nearly 10 grand to get everything. It is all operated via iPads and stuff so it is ultra modern but the sound is incredible. Looking at it you wouldn't think it would pack that much punch but it is unreal how loud and clean this thing is. As a result of this the band is operating without amps and running everything through the desk. This leads me to my current predicament.

I'm starting to find myself needing to have a little bit of control over my sound depending on things like the type of room we play in etc. I had a thought that perhaps using something like the Phil Jones Bass buddy would provide a solution to my problems. I figure I can use that as my DI box and the controls on that will allow me to adjust quicker to the room etc. First of all, would this work? and if would/does, has anyone ever tried a similar set up before?

Thanks in advance for any help.

2. BrotherMister

BrotherMister

To condense a rather longwinded post into it's simplest form.

Can anyone give me advice, tell me about their experiences about going amp-less?

3. yodedude2

yodedude2 Supporting Member

not a direct answer: i used a bass buddy as a preamp for a bit. sounded great! but there were grounding issues when powering it with batteries. be sure to use the power adapter.

4. pbass62

pbass62 Supporting Member