Pickup and Preamp advice needed

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Inga51, Nov 8, 2012.

1. Inga51

Inga51

Hi folks, I've tried my best to get my head around the FAQ section for newbies like me...and have learned a lot. However, like with all things, it is full of contrary opinions, and doesn't seem to contain the specific information that I'm looking for....so here is my situation:

I'm new to DB, having played EB for about 15 years. For my EB setup I currently play a Warwick Corvette Std Bubinga (Active) into a MarkBass Little Mark III, connected to a Bergantino HT112ER. I am very happy with that setup and am not looking to change any of that equipment as most of my playing is still on EB. I play mainly at church (minimal FOH/PA support if I want it), and at small community theatre productions of up to 150 seat venues (generally with no FOH support for the musicians). I've always wanted to learn DB and have been playing more musicals that call for DB or a mix of EB and DB throughout the show. I'm currently playing a loaned (low end) plywood bass. I am not able to modify it in any way as it's not mine.

So, I'm looking for advice on a suitable pickup that will not require much in the way of installation, and will be easily moved to a different bass when I purchase my own. I'm also looking for advice on a preamp that might serve as a A/B switch for when I'm using both UB and EB in a show. Ideally, both of those pieces of gear would work nicely with my MarkBass / Berg set up.

Also, another question about pickups in general...I am learning both arco and pizz techniques and will most likely be required to play both on a regular basis. I find the arco sound much louder than the pizz volume, even when I really dig in. Do pickups help to even out that difference, or is a compressor required to assist with this?

Look forward to hearing your feedback and advice.
  2. DoubleMIDI

DoubleMIDI