Pickup cavity and control cavity templates for routing?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Flux Jetson, Dec 27, 2012.

1. Flux Jetson

Flux Jetson

I'm new to routers. I just got a Bosch 1617EVSPK for x-mas. I've been watching some old guys on You Tube use templates to make name signs.

I have to guess that there are templates for pickup cavities and control cavities, or at least some method of making one's own.

Or are most luthiers so hard core that they do it freehand? :)

I'm guessing a very small bit must be used to achieve the tight radus shapes of some pickup cavities, like the parts of the hole that go around the pickup screw bulges on J pickups for instance.

I'm a total router gnewb, but I am pretty darned steady handed and a better than average TIG welder and solder jockey, hold an 8" group at 500 meters, and a decent photographer. While those aren't woodworking skills they are eye-hand skills. Even so I don't think I'd be willing to attempt a freehand cut of a pickup cavity, especially one that is precisely fitted around the pickup like J-bass pickup cavities are.

Any help on any of this stuff? I'm super open to learning new things and I've been told I'm pretty teachable.

Thank you.
  2. Beej

Beej

Templates and jigs are where it's at when it comes to routing. If I'm doing a one off rout, I'll usually just clamp some stringers around where I want to rout and rout away. If it's for something I plan to repeat, or is a complicated shape, I'll make a template. Everybody does them their own way, but I tend to use MDF for templates and I harden the edges where the bearing will ride with CA glue.

Many pickup manufacturers and suppliers also sell plastic templates, but I would recommend using it only once - to make a proper template out of MDF or plywood.

Regarding those tiny radii or the "ears" on a jazz pickup, I typically drill those tiny radii out with a proper sized drill bit on the press, and then use a router and template to clear the rest.