1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Pickup height and other questions.

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Crispin38, Dec 14, 2012.

1. Crispin38

Crispin38

Hello, I'm a little new to playing, but very interested in learning more.
    I'm currently rocking a Schecter raider special-5. I haven't adjusted or changed anything on the guitar except tuning down to A standard; I play some hardcore, death metal and mainstream rock.
    I'm looking for some deeper/warmer tones. I've read that I can adjust the height of my pickups to get a different tone. Is this true?
    Also, since I'm looking for a deeper/warmer/flatter tone, what do you recommend I use for strings? (taking into consideration the style of music I play)

Thanks,
    -CB
  2. oniman7

oniman7

You can, however, try technique first. Play with the pad of your finger and up near the neck. Roll towards the neck pickup. Do you know who Arif from protest the hero is? He uses half wound strings for that kind of tone. Also, reduce treble on your bass and push mids and low mids up.
  3. cnltb

cnltb

Pickup hight does make a difference.
    The strings do also make a difference.
    Where you pluck the strings has quite an impact on what you get also.( closer to, or further away from the bridge)
  4. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

By "a little" I assume under a year......