Pics of my new bass

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Scoops, Jan 26, 2014.

1. Scoops

Scoops Vagabond at large Supporting Member

Greetings,

My name is Pete. Scopps is a nic I go by

I'm a noob to this forum, so this is my first thread here.

I've been lurking for a couple weeks now, and I feel like a kid in a candy store! I can't believe what I'm reading and seeing. Some really great basses. I am truly humbled.

But I have my own story to tell.

I've been building my own instruments for a while now. I have 10 total. This build will be 12. 11 is in process

All I have to work with are simple hand held power tools. A drill, router, palm sander, jig saw, and a Dremmel. I do on occasion use a table saw, and/or mitre saw. Other assorted hand tools

Here's what I have to work with. Some fabrication and assembly required
    [​IMG]
  2. pilotjones

pilotjones Supporting Member

Nice piece of wood. What species?
  3. Scoops

There are 2 pieces of wood. They are both Koa. One sitting more to the top of the pic is the neck. I'll be cutting a solid body with bolt on neck. I'll be posting spec soon.

I'm a bit in a quandary because the piece of wood I have for the neck is only long enough for a headless system, and I'm itching to use that piece of wood for a neck. But I don't have much experience at headless systems.

Feedback on headless systems would be great.
  4. KramerDon

KramerDon

Very nice! I don't expect Koa to be generally available much longer,especially really pretty Koa like that!
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. SirMjac28

SirMjac28 Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion Gold Supporting Member

Nice wood how about an ebony headstock?
  7. Scoops

I have a headstock shape I'll share later. It's nothing special, but out of ebony? that would be cool. That option is now under serious consideration. If I choose to go with a standard neck with the tuners in the headstock, I would be cutting a faceplate out of the remainder of the billet.