Placement of fills...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by rollyolly, Nov 13, 2012.

1. rollyolly

rollyolly

I've been thinking about this a lot lately since I'm new to playing with others. When jamming with a drummer, is it generally best to place fills at the same time as a drum fill? It seems like this would be the best time, otherwise there could potentially be too many fills in one "bar" of music, making it sound to busy and disorganized?

Also, is there a general consensus among musicians as to which parts of a song are a good place for fills?

I know this can vary wildly depending on type of music. Right now I'm playing some jazz/funk/soul stuff that generally has two sections, then starts over from the top. Would it be best to place fills at the end, to put an emphasis on returning to the top?

Thanks!

2. tZer

tZer

My general rule of thumb is 'less is more'. I usually find the ends of phrase cycles to be good spots to add a little embellishment. I also like to keep the fundamental parts very solid and consistent which helps make even small embellishments stand out.

There are also ways to add subtle variation within the fundamental phrases so that they still sound consistent, but not static. It's all about paying attention to what is going on at the time and staying out of the way of the singer or whomever is taking a solo or feature at the time but also picking up on rhythmic and melodic statemtents.

Connect with your drummer, listen to everyone, stay out of the way when anyone is singing or soloing and pick your moments - mark the cycles - and try (above all) to be solid and consistent throughout the entire song. Don't let your fills trip you up.

3. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

Who else is doing fills? You mentioned the drummer, how about the lead electric, what about the keyboard.