Playing A Gig In Front Of Coworkers

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by ckdhaven, Dec 8, 2012.

1. ckdhaven

ckdhaven

I have a gig tonight that at least 15 coworkers will be at with their spouses...

I'm a part time musician in a "gig once a month" hobby band... We have a great time and play some good tunes..

However, I have a little anxiety about this one... I want to play really well.

Anyone have any advice? Besides "more beer?" LOL

2. jefkritz

jefkritz

Media:
    Albums:
    depends on your coworkers, and whether any of them are your boss, but i generally try to swear less when coworkers are around :)

3. fourstringdrums

fourstringdrums Decidedly Indecisive Supporting Member

Treat it as any other gig. I've done those before and it was no different than any other time. Just relax, you'll be fine.

4. ckdhaven

ckdhaven

Good tip!!!:D More?

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. mblackford

mblackford

Don't sweat it, you'll be fine. Sometimes its hard crossing lines between work and personal life.

True story... I take a gig for a wedding. The couple wants music along the lines of Smashing Pumpkins and Nine Inch Nails for a cocktail hour about 4pm on a patio. I'm thinking this is not going to go over well but the wedding is over an hour drive away, I won't know anybody anyway so I take the job. The very first guest to show up... my boss of 15 years with his wife. I'm freaking out a bit but iIn the end everybody seemed to love it. I got compliments from my boss and the newleyweds want us back for another party later this year.

7. bassgod0dmw

bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

Yep. Excellent advice for any gig IMO.

8. SirMjac28

SirMjac28 Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion Gold Supporting Member

Just imagine them all naked :)

9. pklima

pklima