1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

playing a maj 3rd in a minor key chord!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by scottfeldstein, Nov 10, 2012.

1. scottfeldstein

scottfeldstein Supporting Member

I know nothing about music, but I have a lot of experience doing my know-nothing thing. If you know what I mean.

Anyway. The other day I was recording a bass part I'd composed earlier that afternoon. It was for a cover of a song by Emerson Lake & Palmer called Battlefield. I do not know the original song and I chose to keep it that way by deliberately not listening to it. I just listened to the scratch tracks I was given, composed something, showed up to record it that night.

Here's the thing. I'm playing, we're recording, everything's going good. Producer/guitarist is telling me he really digs what I'm doing. Later on, he picks up a guitar to do another track on the song. He remarks that he just realized the key! Haha! It's E minor!

At this my blood runs cold. I'd been hitting the major 3rd of that E--the G#--twice through every verse of the song. I immediately seek clarification. And thus starts a weird discussion where we verify that the E is minor...but that the major 3rd sounds okay in this composition I recorded. More than ok, it sounds wrong to do it with the minor 3rd.