Playing During Pregnancy?

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by APeck, Dec 18, 2012.

1. APeck

APeck

Hi! I'm somewhat new to the site, just started exploring.

I'm a music graduate student, been playing bass for about 15 years or so. I'm an education major so performance isn't my emphasis, however I do practice/play in ensemble anywhere from 1-5 hours per day, depending on the day. I play electric too, but not nearly as often, and I'm not as concerned about that setup.

I wondered if anyone had any advice on continuing to play during pregnancy. My husband and I are considering TTC near the end of my last semester of grad school, but I plan to continue gigging and playing in a local orchestra.

I'm particularly interested in the issues of swelling (fingers) and if the technique is changed at all by the bump! I sit when I play normally, french grip, and I'm "normal" weight if that makes any difference. Advice from both lady and man bassists if you have it would be much appreciated.
  2. chicagodoubler

chicagodoubler

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Lakland, Genz Benz
    There are dozens of female orchestral players who have played through pregnancy in this country. Do a search in this forum for "female;" there was a great comprehensive list posted recently. My pal Jennifer Downing Olsson just played a season here with Grant Park *very pregnant,* and in the heat!
  3. APeck

APeck

Thank you - I haven't been able to find the thread you're referring too, but I wanted to ensure that I would likely be able to play through the majority of the pregnancy if we decide to go that route. I don't know any female bassists who have been pregnant personally, so I thought I could get some input here. If anyone knows where this thread/list is, a link would be appreciated!
  4. chicagodoubler

chicagodoubler

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Lakland, Genz Benz