Playing live! What gear do YOU use?

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by Timatora, Apr 9, 2014.

1. Timatora

Timatora

Greetings all!

I've been a guitarist for 12 years and while I've played bass before (both in bands and recording) I feel its fair to say I'm really only starting to actually understand the instrument now.

I just got a nice 6 string and have an EMG BQC system recently installed (Or I will have when I get my replacement blend pot, but thats another story for another time). This thing sounds great and all I have is an MXR M80 bass DI + pedal. This one for anyone who doesn't already know it:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RGT9IVvR8sM

Outstanding pedal but its literally all I have. I plan on going direct and let the sound guy handle it - im a sound eng myself so this isnt too scary for me haha.

But is this a common thing? What am I missing from not using an amp?
    I know using both will allow the FOH a better bass mix but am I suffering tonally by just DI'ing? Whenever I have done sound I use it purely as a volume thing if needed. I rarely pay attention past volume (the guitarist in me coming through there lol)
  2. 4Mal

4Mal Supporting Member

Media:
    Smallest i can get away with for the date... For me and the drummer it is a monitor. Guitarist and lead vocalist/kbd get my bass in the monitors on a larger stage. We prefer low stage volume and let the FOH do the heavy lifting.

If I could depend on good monitoring, I would let a Radial DI or Avalon U5 speak for me period... Usually I bring a GK micro (MB200, 500 or Mb Fusion ) and a cab, or two... My bass is almost always in the FOH, usually off a radial DI.
  3. theStink

theStink