Playing metal on bass. Right or Wrong?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by truecanadian04, Feb 24, 2013.

1. truecanadian04

truecanadian04

I've played bass for about 8 years off and on. I love metal for its aggression and power. Bands I look up to and inspire me to play are Pantera and Slayer. I've noticed every time I go to music stores or around the music scene people don't treat me with the same respect. For example; when I pull my pick out to jam, people will tell me real bass players don't use picks or when I want to talk about distortion pedals, people just tell me to leave that up to the guitar player because bass players don't use distortion. Also people are always telling me to change my style if I want I play bass for a living because there is no room for metal bass players. Luckily I have a strong back bone and a **** you attitude. Do other bass players have this problem? Or am I blind with my love and passion for metal bass.
  2. Unrepresented

Unrepresented Something Borderline Offensive Supporting Member

Media:
    "Metal" is what you make it. There are plenty of respected metal bassists out there. Do your thing, make your own "metal" if need be.
  3. dreads311

dreads311

Haters hate. Let them. If it makes you happy, do it.
  4. ShredderMaximus

ShredderMaximus

F--- em'! As a fellow metal bassist your doing everything just fine. If they're that quick to dismiss you over such superficial things as how you pluck the strings, I don't think that speaks highly towards them as musicians.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Hamlet7768

Hamlet7768 Here to chew gum and rock. Still have gum. Supporting Member

The hell with them. They said the same stuff back when Geezer was plugging in a wah pedal. And pick style's fine an' dandy; I wish I could play half as well with a pick as with my fingers...
  7. Drunk Heffalump

Drunk Heffalump Tone that I have. Skill? Oh, that? Well....

OMG Now that I think about it Lemmy NEVER used overdrive ever.....