1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Playing Tips? Semi-Experienced Bassist

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by DunciRunci, Feb 20, 2013.

1. DunciRunci

DunciRunci

Hey, I am a bassist who has been playing 3 years and am in my 2nd year of studying music in college under bass, the college I go to is one of the best in the UK for music and I can play most styles and have a small amount of knowledge in theory and playing compared to most people, but I have a big problem with my speed with my fingers and with a pick.

When I try to play with great speed I get fatigued and also when I am playing constantly for long periods of time with speed I start getting inaccurate with my picking and my wrist gets cramp or I start to run out of speed, I was hoping that somebody could perhaps help me with this, tips, exercises, anything because it hinders me when/if I want to play metal.

P.S. I think I may have quite bad circulation as speed is just something you pick up overtime and the first thing most people learn, but I feel unusual as I can't do it as well as most bassists who have playing as long as me, im not saying im like a turtle I just need help getting faster, so any exercises that anybody have picked up, my note striking hand is fine with speed btw. Thanks :)

Dan x

2. stepswork4me

stepswork4me

I've had some of the same cramping. It's in your picking hand, right? I figure it comes from gripping the pick so intensely. I solved this issue by solving another. I was looking for a solution to switching between pick and tap style. I started using a thumb pick, which doesn't need to be held so firmly. I had to shave the pick down as it stuck out way to far for smooth picking.

3. SemiDriven

SemiDriven Supporting Member

I'm guessing you're not over 50. :)