Please help me decide on first bass - narrowed down to 2 Precisions

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Mike Vee, Nov 6, 2012.

1. Mike Vee

Mike Vee

I am currently a producer/engineer of electronic music. Style is like modern disco-ish dance, Indy/hipster style. I specialize in drum and synth production but I want to learn to play and add live bass to my setup. I realize it will take a year or more to get OK at playing bass, but I want to get the best I can to begin with and keep it for life. Bass will be going DI into UA LA-610 mkII for mostly recording purposes into Cubase.

After much research, I am TORN between these 2:

- 2012 Sunburst American Vintage 62 Reissue
    - 2012 Jade Pearl Metallic American Standard

I can get both for roughly the same price. Which is a better first (and kept for life) bass for me???

Thanks a lot.

2. awilkie84

awilkie84

Try both out. The neck profiles & pick-ups are a little different.
    See which one feels most comfortable to you. That's really the only way to choose between 2 awesome choices.

3. azzyrazzy

azzyrazzy

Media:
    Try both, pick one, and forget about talkbass :) This way you will not build up GAS (Gear aquisition Syndrome). Ignore my advice at your wallet's expense.

4. boristhespider9

boristhespider9

Hipster is a style?

It only takes a year to get good on bass? What have we all been doing wrong?

Both are nice basses. Sunburst is a more classic and timeless color (you can also get it on the American Standard). The Jade Pearl is cool, but you may get tired of it after a while. Besides that, pick the one that is more comfortable to play on hour 2 of the gig.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. bassgod0dmw

bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

They are both great basses, The necks are going to feel fairly different, so it's really a personal choice that only you can make.

Electronics are slightly different too, but they both sound like a P.

7. Mike Vee

Mike Vee

^ a little cynical, aye Boris?