1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Please help me with what to buy...NOVICE!!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by MrsNinaAllen, Oct 20, 2013.

1. MrsNinaAllen

MrsNinaAllen

Hi all
    Ive today joined this forum as I need some expert help please.
    I am purchasing a bass guitar for my husband for Christmas and I have no idea what to get.

This is what he will do with it:
    • Learn to play as a total beginner
    • Play reggae music (only)
    • Play in studio setting to record with Protools (no live performance or band...yet)

What do I need to get for him eg what make of guitar, strings, amp, connection to pro-tools etc? I would be so grateful for any advise. And please Im a total novice so keep that in mind as Im guessing there is a lot of "bass jargon and lingo" that I wont be familiar with.

Kindest regards
    Nina

2. Bruins29

Bruins29 Supporting Member

Just go to Guitar Center/music store and get a Fender squire or Mexico jazz bass. Very popular and inexpensive. If he likes playing then he can upgrade down the road. It will come with strings. You can get a package probably with a cord, stand, and a bag for the bass.

Just get a small combo amp. 50 watts should do it. Dont spend more than $500 for everything.

Are you planning on going to a store or buying online?

3. MrsNinaAllen

MrsNinaAllen

Thank you so much for writing. I will look into what you have recommended.
    Ive done some research and many have mentioned flat strings are better for reggae music but what do I know?
    Does it matter? And most important thing is that he will be able to record with pro-tools.

Anyways, thanks again and i will defo start my search.

4. Bassist4Eris

Bassist4Eris Non Serviam Supporting Member