1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

plywood that sounds nice playing any style

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by CherylTheSinger, Jan 7, 2014.

1. CherylTheSinger

CherylTheSinger

I am a beginner renting at the moment. Within the next three years I will be purchasing my own bass. I have college-educated, performing, working teacher.

I have no idea where I want to go with the bass yet, but I enjoy every style. I teach general music and vocal music in a public school to every grade and use my electric (also a beginner) in my classes as often as I can. I would also like to use the double bass in any way that I can. For example, playing, "The Elephant" while my Kindergarten walks around like elephants, playing along with my sixth grade guitar class, skipping lunch and joining in with high school band (band director says that I am welcome anytime), etc.

I miss orchestra from my childhood playing violin. I also enjoyed playing fiddle style music. (and still do, even if it's poor fiddling) I plan on joining an amateur orchestra as soon as I can find the time and play in places other than half and first position. There is a local one at my old college that meets on Tuesday nights in the summer, 25 bucks to join, lots of teachers participate. There is another one in a closer town that meets on Thursdays during the fall and spring that said they could use me now (no bass players), but I just don't have the time during the year usually.

I adore jazz and rock-a-billy. I take the rental to parties with my friends and try. It's funny; I get very tired, but it's a lot of fun. I plan on playing with my chorus this spring too.

I LOVE bluegrass. I live in the woods. I have lots of hick friends.