Poor Technique or Low Quality Bass?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Reo, Feb 18, 2014.

1. Reo

Reo

Been lurking for a while and finally had a reason to post. A quick background, I've had a cheap bass guitar for 9 years, but never really took the time to try to learn to play it. It sat unused for the bulk of that time, save for six months after I got it. I've committed myself to learning how to play. Unfortunately I don't have the time to take proper lessons, so I'm going the self-taught route using various books, sites, TB, etc.

Lately, I've been working on songs and bass lines that primarily use the D and G strings. When doing this, I notice that my amp is picking up quite a bit of vibration from the E string. I use a thumb rest, so my thumb isn't resting on the E to mute it.

The guitar is one of those Silvertone starter kit jobs. When I recommitted to playing, I put new strings on it and adjusted the neck to try and lower the action. The action is ridiculously high compared to basses I've messed with in guitar shops, but it's pretty much as low as it can go without massive fret buzz on the lower notes.

So my question is if the E string vibrations could be a product of the low quality instrument, or if I just have poor technique and need to work more on muting the E while I play. Thanks for any help you can give.

2. icecycle66

icecycle66

It could, and probably is, a combination of both.

Technique: Rest your thumb or hand on the E and A stings and the string ringing will stop. Playing at "stage volume" and with a band might make it so it's generally inaudible. But if it just annoys you, as it does me, then some slight technique change in you picking hand position will fix it.

You may also be brushing those lower strings with your plucking hand and not even notice. This will cause those stings to vibrate.