Port tuning

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by J42, Jan 26, 2011.

1. J42

J42 Guest

I am tuning the ports on a generic 2x10 cab that I bought used recently.

The cab has inside dimensions of 14.5" X 20.5" x 15.875" and an internal brace that is 3.75" x .5" x 15.875"

I am guesstimating the speaker displacement and the brace to be .1 cu. ft. (I am still waiting on a reply from Eminence for the exact speaker displacement).

This yields a displacement of 2.613 cu. ft.

There are two 3" ports.

Using an online calculator at mh-audio.nl, I came up with a port length of 2.532"

This is my first time attempting this, and don't know if there is anything else to consider, such as cabinet damping material. I am going to replace the fiberglass insulation with Acousti-Stuff. Does damping material affect the equation? I have read that it effectively raises the displacement. Is there anything else I need to consider?

The drivers are Eminence and came from an SWR Workingman's cab. Here are the T/S Specs:

05-RE OHMS 4.16
    06-LE MH .59
    07-QM 3.35
    08-QE .380
    09-QT .340
    10-XMAX MM 3.50
    11-BL TM 10.89
    12-EFF % 1.87
    13-FS HZ 55.26
    14-MMS GMS 31.40
    15-CMS mm/N .2641
    16-RMS NS/M 3.2585
    17-VAS LTRS 44.12
    18-SD SCM 344.88
    19-EBP 144.4
    20-SPL dB 94.7

2. MuzikMan

MuzikMan

Don't worry about the acoustic fill's effect on your parameters. The effect (if there is any) would be negligible.

3. Sundogue

Sundogue Supporting Member

Acoustic fill (as opposed to lining the walls) is only used for sealed cabs. Only line the walls of the cab if you are porting it.

What are you trying to tune the cab to?

4. Robby Hoinsky

Robby Hoinsky

Disclosures:
    Art of Noise Audio, fEARful™ builder
    download winisd and plug the parameters into it. subtract the port volume from the internal volume and play around with port tunings.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. J42

J42 Guest