Positions For Arpeggios

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by rasbass, Dec 29, 2012.

1. rasbass

rasbass

Hello-

I am a self-taught, jazz player on upright. I am wondering if I can play arpeggios smoothly without shifting positions, such as, how to play the "5" of a m7? (Please excuse an lack of clarity regarding terms like "shifting" and "positions"- on only know this from the internet).

For example, if I were to play a Dm7 arpeggio, I might start by playing the D on the A string, (2nd position?) then the F on the D string (2nd position). The C on the G string is fine (also 2nd position), but where is it best to play the A? On the G string? (shifting to first position?) Or should I try to play the A on the D string, in 3rd position?

Thank you.

2. Michael Case

Michael Case

I would say that you could also play open D, F with the fourth finger on the D string (half position), A second finger on the G string (again half position), then shift up and play the C on the G string with the fourth finger (Second position).

Now I will say, the best thing you could do is get a copy of Simandl book I and find a teacher. Simandl is the go to book for double bass and will help you discover the best fingerings for you. A teacher will help you develop the technique to prevent injuries.

3. bassist1962

bassist1962

Bill Harrison has some great online lessons for this:

4. rasbass

rasbass

Thanks for the info. Those Bill Harrison videos are quite clear and well put together.

As I see the video, it seems that Mr. Harrison teaches to use open strings when available. I am curious- somehow I learned to play without open strings, for the most part, primarily on my fretless BG. That was so I could generalize patterns and play them in different keys.

Is it better form to use the open strings as often as possible? Does the benefit to intonation outweigh the benefit from generalizing patterns?

Input is appreciated.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Michael Glynn