Possible tendon issues with 6 string

Discussion in 'Ask Todd Johnson' started by VoodooZombie, Jan 11, 2011.

1. VoodooZombie

VoodooZombie

Hey Todd, how are you? I figured I'd throw this up in your section as I am still very new to this site and I know for sure that you play a 6 string. Feel free to move this if it's in the wrong spot.

Anyways here's my issue guys. I started playing bass maybe 6 months back tops, I've been playing guitar off and on for a few years never really got into it, but the day I picked up a bass and gave it a valid effort I fell in love! I got a no-name bass for $40, and other than the electronics the thing is amazing! Especially for slap :D But after a few weeks of playing I knew that I wanted a 6 string, I wanted the challenge, and I didn't want to waste time getting used to one, so I found a 04-06 SR506 for 200, so I jumped right on it! Recently I FINALLY figured out how to adjust the truss rod, but before I didn't realize the bass had a big bow in it and that was making my life difficult, so now the action is perfect and the bass is MUCH easier to play! Originally I had an issue with some tenderness in the left hand when the action was high, but it went away no problem but I didn't play for a week or so just because I wasn't in the mood. Well right around Christmas I got a PS3, and I played the heck out of it! But I think the controller's small size messed with my arms, because it gave me really bad hand and tendon cramps on the outside(not the thumb, forefinger, and middle finger, but the pinky and ring finger) and it goes from the tip of my pinky to my elbow, and sometimes I feel it slighty up to my shoulder. So I stopped playing PS3 because it would only hurt when I played it. But here's the thing, I don't know if it was JUST the PS3, because in the whole mess of me having the PS3 problems I went to guitar center and decided to try the SR706 for a bit because I had a whole day to do nothing. Well needless to say, I didn't put it d