1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Possible to Get Highest Music Grade in a Few Months?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Crazyfist, Jan 25, 2014.

1. Crazyfist

Crazyfist

Hey, I'm a British music student and I really want to be able to have the option of getting into a University on their Bachelor's degree in music (equivalent to the American Bachelor's degree I believe).
    The only problem is that I need to have Grade 8 bass (the American equivalent of that would be "really, really good at bass" ;)) and the next Rockschool examination is about 5 months away from the time of writing this.

I was just wondering if the contents in the link below is possible to learn and master in that space of time, considering I have only a basic grasp of sight reading, but I've been playing for about 4 years.

https://www.rockschool.co.uk/qualifications/gradedmusicexams/bass/gradeeight.aspx

(it's on the right-hand side where it says 'Download Syllabus', which can just be opened as a PDF without downloading it and see page 29 onwards)

Please have a look and could you tell me what you think? Is Grade 8 possible to learn in 5 months? How do I go about practising this stuff?

Thanks,
    Crazyfist

2. lfmn16

lfmn16 Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    I'm a Fuzzrocious-aholic. It's been one week since I bought my last Fuzzrocious pedal.
    Your best chance is to immediately find the best teacher you can and practice diligently for the next five months.

3. Crazyfist

Crazyfist

Thanks man, any advice on how to practise for the ear tests? :)

4. lfmn16

lfmn16 Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    I'm a Fuzzrocious-aholic. It's been one week since I bought my last Fuzzrocious pedal.