Powdercoating a bridge, and what's this?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by keep it low, Jan 24, 2013.

1. keep it low

keep it low

Whats goin on erebudy, ive been playing drums for 4 years, bass for for about 6 months solid, really listening to bassists for about 3 years, and now I'm ready to start working on my bass. Ill be posting here alot haha, as I'm completely stripping apart my fender p "deluxe special" Which is active, and upgrading the fudge out of it. Im ordering a Mike pope preamp and some emgs to recreate vic wooten's sound and putting it in all by myself, and trying to take advantage of the powdercoating dept in the sheet metal factory I work in. So far I've done the knobs and the input jack plate, and I'd like to do the bridge as well but I found this when I took it off. 1359015079837.jpg does this serve as a ground? If so would it stop me from being able to coat it? , Whats all that white powder, and also whats this stray hole with more powder in it
    1359015015039.jpg

And what about the tuners? Do they need complete contact with the strings as well?

2. gene beauchamp

gene beauchamp Supporting Member

The stray hole is for ground wire. If you use active pickups this wont be needed. You can powder coat all of your hardware. If you use the ground wire with passive PU just sand the paint off a small spot underneath bridge.

3. Stilettoprefer

Stilettoprefer

+1.

Might be good to use the ground wire anyways since it was used with the stock active electronics.

4. Flashback Bass

Flashback Bass

The white powder is buffing compound that gets stuck in the holes when the body is buffed out.

They don't take the time to clean it out at the factory because time is money!

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. keep it low

keep it low

yea in Mexico, time is money and money is drug cartel protection. I'll powdercoat it and see what happens, I'll ask my tech what he thinks too, but this thing's going to look badass when im done.