Power amp clipping and barely loud enough.

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by M Sterling, Jan 29, 2013.

1. M Sterling

M Sterling Gold Supporting Member

Hello! I am new to the preamp>power amp rig and I have a question regarding clipping.

I am running an Aguilar db659 into a crown xls602d into a LDS 121261. The cab is rated at around 1100 watts and features 2 delta lf eminence 12's.

I set the input on the Pre to avoid distortion from input clipping and then set the power amp gain to about 3/4 up. Now when I set the master on the Pre to the volume I need for playing live, it makes the clip light flash occasionally on the power amp. Is this because my speakers maybe are not efficient enough to get that loud with the power I have on tap, or is there an issue with one of the other components.

Speaker wise, I have considered swapping the 12's for some deltalite 3012lf's. Would the extra sensitivity help, or do I just need a more powerful amp. I don't usually need a ton of stage volume, but I like to have it available for many reasons.

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer a perpetual amp noob!
  2. Tractorr

Tractorr Supporting Member

Media:
    Does it sound good?

If so the clip light might not matter if it is just flashing occasionally.
  3. M Sterling

It does sound fine, as I am not hearing any stress from the speakers. My concern is overheating the voice coils in my drivers due to clipping. I am no stranger to blown speakers and am not trying to go down that route again.
  4. temmrich

temmrich Supporting Member