Practice time

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by msaone, Nov 2, 2012.

1. msaone

msaone

Just curious as to how much time you (on average) you spend practicing everyday?

Currently I get in around an hour at least running scales and difficult runs while watching tv

2. Kmonk

Kmonk

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Fender, Spector, Ampeg, Curt Mangan Strings
    I have been playing for 34 years and have never seen the need to practice everyday. I learn very quickly and can stop playing for a month or more and pick up right where I left off. I play for about 4 to 6 hours per night on Friday and Saturday. Except for rehearsal, I rarely play during the week.

3. msaone

msaone

Try to play everyday to keep the chops up. Just getting back into it and the band I'm playing with wont be playing as much as you. We play all instrumentals with a fair amount of duty put to the bass. If I rest too much it's like starting over for me.

4. Pacman

Pacman Layin' Down Time Supporting Member

Media:
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Roscoe Guitars, DR Strings, Aguilar Amplification
    I manage between 3-4 hours every day during the week, not counting rehearsals. Weekends tend to be trickier, but I still manage some shed time.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. bolophonic

bolophonic

I try to play as often as humanly possible. I am always getting better when I play more frequently.

7. msaone

msaone

I'd love to play 3-4 hours a day, that's great.

8. Art Araya

Art Araya Supporting Member

I did LOTS of this - running scales and exercises while watching TV. It has its place - it develops some pretty good dexterity.

But make sure you spend time working on your ear, your feel/groove, etc... There are other elements of bass playing that require your mind to be engaged which you can't do while watching TV. Otherwise your playing will fall into the rut of mindless scale runs. This happened to me and it was very hard to break out of.

9. Art Araya