Practising, what first

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Mennolineum, Feb 23, 2014.

1. Mennolineum

Mennolineum

Ladies, Gents, others,

I've been playing bass for almost 10 years now.. i Thought it would be a good thing to actually learn How. I am talking scales, arpeggios and so on.

But im a bit overwhelmed by the amount of stuff i want to learn:p

My question: where do i begin? Scales? Maybe chords? Cry?

Plus, what do i learn after that?

Do i tackle every scale, mode, arpeggio, chord of one key then move on to the Next?

Thanks in advance!

Btw, my first post! Yay
  2. fearceol

fearceol

I would begin by learning the notes on the fretboard. Then I would learn the major, minor and pentatonic scales for starters. Be aware that "knowing" your scales does not mean being able to play them from root to root at a million MPH. Search here on TB for "Pacman's sure fire scale method" for the best way to practice your scales. I think it is in the stickies. Learn how chord tones are derived from scales.

Here are some links that are worth checking out :

www.studybass.com : The lessons follow a logical order. Start at the beginning and work your way through the lessons slowly.

This is a great link for basic theory :

http://www.billygreen.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/Music Theory - Basic, Intermediate, Advanced.pdf

This link covers arpeggios :

http://www.scribd.com/doc/2087887/a...one-system-for-mastering-the-bass-jeff-berlin

It is always recommended that you practice in different keys.

If you can afford lessons then that would be the way to go.

Finally, as well as all the above, dont forget to listen closely to songs/music that you like and play along. Use tabs very sparingly. Instead work things out for yourself.
  3. HeavyRockBasser

HeavyRockBasser

Welcome aboard! Lots of helpful people here, and it's good to have you!