Precision Bass Has No Output

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by DiabolusInMusic, Apr 14, 2014.

1. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism Gold Supporting Member

I recently shielded two basses. I was trying out conductive paint for shielding (and loved it.) The first bass was a Fender Standard Precision and the second bass I did was a Peavey Fury Precision. I did the exact same job to both. I am not that good with electronics, I just know shielding. Because of this, I did not take apart the electronics I just pulled it out as a harness and put it back as a harness. The Peavey came back together just fine but the Fender has zero output.

I did the same work to both instruments. I just added shielding and grounded it. I also shielded the pickup covers and added a strip of copper tape under the bridge. I had to re-attach a pickup on the Fender but it snapped one wire at a time, so they were both soldered back to their correct spots.

The wiring in the Fender all appears to be correct and the solder points all seem to be well done. The pots measure resistance as do the pickups. The pickups measure very different numbers though, one measures over 220 ohms and one is just over 5. Is that correct? That seems like quite the difference

I really do not know what to check but I cannot imagine it can be terribly complicated aside from a pickup having failed. I am worried I might have somehow nicked a wire on a pickup. Possibly the shielding is touching the pickup? I am hoping talkkbass can provide me some help.

:help:
  2. bassliner50

bassliner50