1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Preferred Rosin

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by DoubleBassBass, Oct 6, 2013.

1. DoubleBassBass

DoubleBassBass

I am not an expert when it comes to rosin. I have tried all sorts from Nymans to Pops and Gaston Brohan Old Oak and also Bernadel ( this last one after watching a vid by a gary karr youtube vid). Still not really sold on any one of them and my search continues - probably a lot of the issues I have had are more related to my technique as I am learning an orchestral repertoire and on a vertical learning curve ( but loving every step )!

However here the question , when it comes to people making recommendations I cant help but wonder about the variables in the mix and think that maybe all we can ever say is that 'X' rosin works for me? Here I am thinking about variations in climate, humidity, the type of strings on the bass, the quality of bow hair and coarseness ( I have a student grade bow with probably not that great hair which I imagine the rosin would be very different if I had best grade mares hair, and whether it was black, salt n pepper or white unbleached ). The other big variables would be bow tension, technical ability and knowledge as to when to apply and when not to apply rosin.

Is it possible to ever recommend a rosin or is it trial and error to find a match ? Any words of wisdom would be welcome here!
  2. Edvin

Edvin