1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

PreSonus StudioLive 32.4.2AI

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by Hactar, Jan 23, 2013.

  1. Hactar

    Hactar

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. Big_Daws

    Big_Daws

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    as long as they retail this around $3500 then i wouldn't bother personally....i haven't looked that far or heard anything of it as yet...
  3. Keithwah

    Keithwah Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    The console is lights out sweet! I've had hands on and it is the schnizzle. The built in Ethernet port is a game changer for them.
  4. seamonkey

    seamonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice!

    And glad to see they're addressing Thunderbolt
  5. 4Mal

    4Mal Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 16.4.2 is simply awesome. I have no need for the 32 but if I needed the channel count it is exactly what I would buy. The board is cool, the software integration is amazing. That they keep advancing the software in free upgrades is amazing to me... I am so seriously not complaining.
  6. longfinger

    longfinger

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    The ability to control the mix with an iOS device without the need for a host Mac or Windows computer is a great improvement.

    > The StudioLive 32.4.2AI sports an Ethernet port that allows you to connect to a wireless router for wired Ethernet and wireless Wi-Fi networking. In addition, the mixer has a USB 2.0 port that hosts the included USB Wi-Fi LAN adapter, providing wireless networking without a router for situations where a less powerful, ad hoc Wi-Fi connection is sufficient.
  7. Adam Harzuf

    Adam Harzuf

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a chance to work with the new Behringer X32 a few days ago. It has Midas designed pres and it sounds sweet on acoustical music (and this was in a harsh environmet as well).
    The rental guy that hired me told me it doesn't have glitches or malfunctions. Great interface, only a few minutes to learn the essentials if you're already familiar with digital mixers.
    I'm used to LS9, iLive and DM1000. This one is the most friendly. Really cheap.
  8. seamonkey

    seamonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Behringer just introduced powered cabs that connect with Cat5
    Now their mixer, and stage boxes, monitor mixes, cabinets, ..., all connect with Cat5

    Something tells me that Ethernet ports on Mixers, even this Presounus, is more than just for Ethernet. I expect some good compatibility between manufacturers, some cooperation to standardize on protocols and work together.
  9. modulusman

    modulusman

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. Wadge

    Wadge

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is quite cool. I have the 24.4.2 and this has features I'd like in my own board, simpler wireless control being one of them
  11. seamonkey

    seamonkey

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Those look incredible!
    Nice features that integrate perfectly with their mixers
    These companies are really thinking this stuff through.
  12. SteveC

    SteveC Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Likes Received:
    0
    The ability to remote mix without needing a computer is great.
  13. TimmyP

    TimmyP

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 32 has many nice improvements. Gonna be touch to convince me to get that over an X32 though.
  14. Keithwah

    Keithwah Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    I saw him out in Vegas last summer at the Fulcrum booth, and had put some of the Fulcrum's into a few jobs. They are really nice stuff, great subs too, I haven't heard the Presonus/Fulcrum boxes yet, but be guaranteed they probably will get some QSC K-series guys trading in. I know I'll put my PRX's up in a minute if the Presonus boxes sound as good as I am sure they will.
  15. Big_Daws

    Big_Daws

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    the new 32 channel digital soundcraft is at around $600 more than the X32. i haven't and kind of firmed pricing comparisons just yet, cos i have to wait until NAMM is over, but im guessing that the 32ch presonus is going to be around the same price point...

    that being said, if the soundcraft exression series and the presonus Studio live series are all around the same price point, personally i would be picking the soundcraft (from seeing it on paper)...

    http://www.soundcraft.com/products/product.aspx?pid=191
  16. modulusman

    modulusman

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Likes Received:
    0
    IIRC I read on the internet yesterday that the Presonus is about $4000.00

Share This Page