1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is still pending approval by Apple. If you haven't yet, try using your mobile browser - TalkBass is responsive to any screen size.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Problem with E string tone on P-bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Nuge113, Nov 24, 2012.

1. Nuge113

Nuge113

So this is my first time on talk bass and i wanted to ask about a problem I have been having with my American Deluxe P-bass.
    I usually play with the bridge pick up because when set it to the p-pickups the E string sounds very thumpy and choked compared to the other strings. It has a very loud attack followed by a dull release. Its also a bit quitter and it isn't noticeable when you play open. Any one know how to fix it. Its really annoying.
  2. hdracer

hdracer Supporting Member

What strings are you using?
    Where is your tone knob set?
    What is the pick up height under the E string?
  3. Nuge113

Nuge113

To be honest I forget what kind of strings they were. But it was a problem with my last set of string too. Its an american deluxe so it has a three channel eq instead of a toneknob and it doesn't matter how its set. I tried adjusting the pickup too, didn't fix it.
  4. NYCbassist

NYCbassist Supporting Member

Sounds more like an Eq setting. But... Sometimes a very slight tweak of the truss rod can have a big effect on the tone. More So for the dead notes on the G-String Syndrome but I'd give the truss rod about 1/8 turn just for kicks & Giggles.
  5. kander

kander