Problem with orange ad 200

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by BlueSteelRiot, Mar 27, 2014.


  1. BlueSteelRiot

    BlueSteelRiot

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    I have a strange problem with my orange ad 200,
    all out of a sudden, i changed all tubes about 2 Month ago,
    the sound started sound crappy, it distorts way to early, its not loud enough for the level I turn it up, (volume and gain both on about 10 o'clock), and the lowend is weak. If start it up on standby mode, the amp jewel shines bright and like it normally should. When i switch to the running mode, the amp jewel, starts flickering and nearly doesen't shine anymore especially when playing on the E string. Could it be, that its a preamp tube that broke? the failure fuses for the poweramp tubes are all fine... and they look all 4 as they should...
    or could it be, that the amp doesen't get enough electricity?
    thing is, i bought the amp new, about 1 year ago, it's now the 4 time that its broken, i use it about 10h per week, allways let it heat up for at least 10 mins, effective usetime if i substitute all the time it spend at my tech is 9 month... that is definetly not normal, even for a tube amp... i deffinetly start getting pissed off:scowl:
     
  2. Bassmec

    Bassmec

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,106
    Location:
    Ipswich UK
    Disclosures:
    Proprietor Springvale Studios
    What you have there is a Lemon not an Orange.
    Send it back before the warranty runs out.:bassist:
     
  3. sloppy_phil

    sloppy_phil Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    All jokes aside (even though I did legit LOL at this...), the man is probably right. If you still have that amp on warranty, I'd just replace it with a new unit. I haven't heard about too many problems from that amp, so I assume you're one of the unlucky ones to get a bum unit
     
  4. P-oddz

    P-oddz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,295
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Have you had the tech check it again since your problem surfaced? Do you trust your tech?

    Those two issues might not necessarily be related. For example - I switched out power tubes in my AD200, had it back for a practice and tone went to hell again with a few hours of play. Turns out one of the brand new power tubes crapped out and the fuse never tripped because whoever had it before me installed a wrong size. Same response for me - early distortion and low volume. As far as the jewel light - it could be as easy as a loose solder connection.

    Regardless, I agree with above. If you are still under warranty - contact Orange.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. JimmyM

    JimmyM Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    79,551
    Location:
    Apopka, FL
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    This is why I never do wholesale tube swaps in an amp.
     
  7. P-oddz

    P-oddz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,295
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    So Jimmy - you just replace pairs as opposed to the whole quad (in the case of the AD200)?
    If they were all really worn - do you still only replace sets with a completely shot tube?
     
  8. JimmyM

    JimmyM Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    79,551
    Location:
    Apopka, FL
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Obviously you have to exercise a little common sense, but in an SVT, if one tube in a triplet set goes bad, at the most I'll replace the one triplet set, and there were times I've only replaced one single power tube and it worked fine. As for preamp tubes, I will only replace the bad one, even if the others are worn but not worn to the point of signal degradation (this is where the common sense comes into play). One tube can break tomorrow and the one right next to it can break 5 years from now, so I see no reason to replace something that isn't broken. I believe this "regularly change your tubes" stuff is all crap and nonsense started by a tube seller in order to sell more tubes.
     
  9. P-oddz

    P-oddz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,295
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Makes a lot of sense.
     
  10. BlueSteelRiot

    BlueSteelRiot

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Well that seems like i allready thought. I got a real monday morning model at its best^^
    Had a talk with the guy at my local store yesterday, luckily i now them all. He said that he will check with orange switzerland for the warranty, because the amp was opened by their technician for the whole tube stuff and he doesen't know if that has any influence on the warrnty...
    if the warrenty is nomore available, they will repair it at their store and take it back for a trade to any amp i want in the same price class...
    would be a nice option to try something else.... maybe an ashdown ctm-300 looking at that baby for a longer time, but never saw one in a store...
     
  11. Bassmec

    Bassmec

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,106
    Location:
    Ipswich UK
    Disclosures:
    Proprietor Springvale Studios
    I wonder why you don't just use the experience you just had, in realising that most new tube amps suffer from looking like the real thing, instead of performing like the real thing.
    [​IMG]
    The legendary genuine article was made by Matamp near Huddersfield in Yorkshire.
    They will still make you the real thing for a very reasonable price with Orange tolex if you like.
    They won't however put Orange on the front panel like they used to when they custom built them for a famous London guitar shop in Denmark St called Orange music.:bassist:
     
  12. BlueSteelRiot

    BlueSteelRiot

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    well thing is, in switzerland its nearly impossible to find one for a reasonable price... if you should have the luck to find one...
     
  13. BlueSteelRiot

    BlueSteelRiot

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    i checked at Matamp germany, for me it would come with shipping and duty and evrything, at about 4000.-CHF, im a student and dont have that much :meh:
     
  14. Bassmec

    Bassmec

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,106
    Location:
    Ipswich UK
    Disclosures:
    Proprietor Springvale Studios
    Well students of biology with a particular interest in hydroponics, don't seem to do so badly these days, perhaps you might want to look into horticulture as a specialisation.:D
     
  15. BlueSteelRiot

    BlueSteelRiot

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    29
  16. BlueSteelRiot

    BlueSteelRiot

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Btw. Just calculated 4000Chf is are about 4500$ if i would stop eating, paying bills, and rent that would take me more than half a year to save it... Maybe your right... I should change to biology
     
  17. Bassmec

    Bassmec

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,106
    Location:
    Ipswich UK
    Disclosures:
    Proprietor Springvale Studios
    Looks a very good excuse to go green.:)
    [​IMG]
     
  18. BlueSteelRiot

    BlueSteelRiot

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    :D that green would fit really well with a biology student. Are thrte any studies about if the amp is able to do photosynthesis and produce some little tiny terror like amps?:bag:
     
  19. Bassmec

    Bassmec

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,106
    Location:
    Ipswich UK
    Disclosures:
    Proprietor Springvale Studios
    I don't know mate but this is my very old Pre Orange, Black 1968 Matamp Laboratory series model.
    [​IMG]
    Ideal for students as it's built in instruments readily allow students to make measurements of exactly how mega funky it's being at any one moment.
    PS This is the one I would really love to own:
    http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f15/matamp-bass-200-slave-300-rebuild-thread-793454/
    That beautiful dread beast belongs to Mr Foxen who regularly posts here.:)
     
  20. BassmanPaul

    BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    13,730
    Location:
    Toronto Ontario Canada
    What is confusing me is why the OP changed all of his tubes after a year. The pre-amp B9A tubes should last for decades and the output tubes for many years. This leads to the question of how the output tubes were replaced. The output stage needs to be biased to suit the new tube set's requirements. They are certainly NOT plug and play.
     
  21. BlueSteelRiot

    BlueSteelRiot

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    ok, i had to change the tubes because a powertube blew...
    they were not just plug and play, let them change by my certified tech, and had it rebiased...
    but so far, problem solved, they took it back for 300 bucks less than i payed for it about 1 year ago, and made a real discount price for an ashdown BTA 400 - dont ask me how they were able to, but they made me 1600.- for it instead of about 3800 CHF list price :D

    I think there was a general production failure in the orange because right from the beginning i had problems with it, once it was a condensator, once a solder, once the platine so there is a general problem in electronics i suppose... which would be an explanation for the flackering light and tube failure, if there are any tension problems or so....
    since problem solved, thread can be closed
    thanks for your help guys:)
     

Share This Page