Problem with tc electronic polytune...

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Alper Yilmaz, Sep 10, 2013.


  1. Alper Yilmaz

    Alper Yilmaz Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Location:
    Istanbul, Turkey / Brooklyn, NY
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Erkan Sizarlar Custom Basses
    I have a polytune that keeps on dying on me. I cannot see any physical damage on the unit. After upgrading the software recently, it worked for a few days, but it stopped again. If I take out the power supply and replug it, it might come back, but after some time, dead again. Interestingly, when it dies, it cuts the signal totally. Anybody with similar experience?

    This is the second time I am having an issue with a tc product, and given my notorious experience with their service for a Nova Delay in the past, I won't even dare to contact them.

    Any troubleshooting advice would be highly appreciated...

    Best,

    Alper
  2. Alper Yilmaz

    Alper Yilmaz Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Location:
    Istanbul, Turkey / Brooklyn, NY
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Erkan Sizarlar Custom Basses
    I assume I am the only dissatisfied one with the polytune...

    :crying:


  3. Fliptrique

    Fliptrique

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Szczecin, Poland
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Mayones Guitars&Basses, Taurus Amplification
    I`ve had mine for years - no problem whatsoever. I did not upgrade the software though.
  4. mouthmw

    mouthmw Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Location:
    Croatia
  5. Alper Yilmaz

    Alper Yilmaz Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Location:
    Istanbul, Turkey / Brooklyn, NY
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Erkan Sizarlar Custom Basses
    Thanks for the suggestion mouthmw...

    I went over the whole thread you provided the link for and this is very similar to what happened to me with my Nova Delay.

    Exactly a year after I bought the unit, one of the switches stopped working. When I contacted tc, they asked for some crazy amount of money for fixing it, and recommended me to buy a new one in quite a rude way.

    I was able to detach the unit, look for a similar switch on internet (except the color) and fix the whole thing for under $10 and some search-on-internet and soldering labor!

    The problem with the polytune is likely to be with the switch again, but this time it is soldered to the PCB. Yet, I can still fix it myself, but this time I am not sure if I can find a replacement part. So, another nice-looking product in the garbage.

    Best,

    Alper
  6. mouthmw

    mouthmw Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Location:
    Croatia
    That kind of makes me worried about all the tc stuff I have on my board - polytune noir, repeater and ditto. Repeater is the best delay I've tried and I'd hate for it to crap out.
  7. Baird6869

    Baird6869 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    +1 here.
  8. Adamixoye

    Adamixoye A PT Pro is cool for worship, right? Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    If it's still under warranty, I wouldn't let the possibility of a customer service headache attempt me from trying.
  9. mouthmw

    mouthmw Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Location:
    Croatia
    I would have just taken it back to the store for a replacement (if it was under warranty).
  10. Adamixoye

    Adamixoye A PT Pro is cool for worship, right? Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    My comment is really directed at the original poster, who I don't think was clear about whether it's under warranty. (But had something else fail out of warranty.)
  11. Alper Yilmaz

    Alper Yilmaz Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Location:
    Istanbul, Turkey / Brooklyn, NY
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Erkan Sizarlar Custom Basses
    It is out of warranty, unfortunately...

Share This Page