1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Problems with bass and gear

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by bdhoward27, Feb 11, 2014.

1. bdhoward27

bdhoward27

I'm relatively new to playing live and, as of a couple months ago, new to using gear that isn't just a bass plugged into an amp. I'm playing a Tobias 5-string with active pickups and my gear consists of a boss distortion pedal, boss bass limiter/enhancer pedal and a korg electronic tuner. I have all pedals linked together with cords that came standard with the boss pedal board I purchased. Pedals do not take 9-volt to my knowledge, so they are powered with an a/c adaptor.

Issues I'm having with bass: pedals enhance a unwanted buzzing sound (enhancer pedal more than distortion pedal). With no pedals, I cannot even switch to active pickups without buzzing. Was told it may be a grounding issue, but have had 2 people look at it that said there was no grounding issue. Although, bass hasn't been unstrung to remove pickups.

Issue with pedals: Played a live show last week with only my distortion pedal and tuner due to enhancer/limiter pedal enhancing the unwanted buzz. Had to bypass them both and plug directly into amp because they stopped working. This has happened before during practice. Was told it could be a short in my effects chain.

Anyone have any ideas as to why I'm having continuous bad luck with my instrument/gear?

2. Steveaux

Steveaux

3. Mo'Phat

Mo'Phat

As with any 'noise' problems, you need to isolate what exactly is causing the problem.

Start with Bass - cable - amp

Is there buzzing? Try a different cable. Instrument cables are shielded. Speaker cables normally aren't. Make sure your cable is. Try a different cable. Buzz still there?