Problems With Da Funk

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Savaaris, Mar 19, 2014.

1. Savaaris

Savaaris

I have been playing bass for almost 7 years and recently, ive found myself having a hard time writing a certain style of bass playing, i play mostly rock and metal, but i also play jazz and stuff like that, i just have trouble laying down "Da Funk" for my drummer and i to get in the pocket.. What do?

2. bkbirge

bkbirge Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Steak n Shake
    Play on the one. If you wonder if you are playing too much you are.

[​IMG]

3. brianrockwell84

brianrockwell84

Yes.... make sure you always play/land on the 1. Use the pentatonic for fills.

4. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism Gold Supporting Member

Hitting on the 1 is essential but the funkiest part of the rhythm lies on the ee's and the uh's. (1-EE-and-UH,2-EE-and-UH,etc)

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. BobaFret

BobaFret Supporting Member

this

7. M0ses

M0ses

Listen to funkadelic

play like funkadelic

8. dalkowski

dalkowski

Yep. If you do NOTHING else, hit that one with purpose and dedication. And get your hands on a copy of "C'est Chic." Tons of great funk LPs out there that I looove, but Chic's my go-to for solid, economical, reliable funk bass.

9. ahc

ahc

10. SirMjac28

SirMjac28 Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion Gold Supporting Member

11. Savaaris

Savaaris

ahc, that is probably the best video, ever

12. ahc

ahc

It tells it like it is.

13. Lownote38

Lownote38

Listen to a lot of funk, and it will eventually hit you upside the head like a brick. You have to hear it to "get" it. Not all funk lands on "the one" on every measure either. It can be very syncopated. Mother Popcorn lands on the one every other measure for example.

14. DWBass

DWBass The Funkfather Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Kohlman Bassworks