Proper placement for Pbass pickup in a non P body?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by your idol, Nov 11, 2012.

1. your idol

your idol

I always hear placement is everything in terms of that P Bass sound.

If one were to place a P Bass pickup in a non native instrument, say a Stingray body. How would you know where to properly place that pickup?

2. thiocyclist

thiocyclist Supporting Member

They are the same scale so it should be easy to find where the pickup goes, measuring from the 12th fret or the nut.

3. LanOsb133

LanOsb133

I am no expert but (from what I can recall) There is no set place to place a pickup. You can place them anywhere and you will get a different tone out of it (deeper and warmer towards neck and brighter towards bridge if I remember correctly) I believe the only thing you have to take into account is top and bottom. That has to be aligned (maybe) but "left to right" is all about what you want your bass to sound like.

Again this is if my memory serves me properly.

4. grrg63

grrg63

Couldnt you just measure from the bridge to the pickup on a Pbass and use the same measurement?

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. your idol

your idol

I suppose as long as bridge placement and where the 12th fret are somewhat realitive between the 2 basses

7. 96tbird

96tbird This Indian movie is really boring man. Supporting Member

I think it should be at a harmonic node. My 50's Squier P is ten inches past the twelfth fret on the node. A split P likely goes the same location. I'm ready for flaming so I can know the truth on this too.

8. your idol

your idol

YOURE ready for a flaming?

Im the one trying to make a P Ray--- theyre gonna burn me at the stake for my heresy

9. xander8280

xander8280